2017 “Resolutions”

TAYLOR SCOTT

I’ve never really been one to make New Year’s Resolutions, or follow through with them if I did. I’d like to believe that I am the type of person who sets goals avidly and fixes things in my life when they need fixing, but sometimes denial or procrastination can get in the way. When the New Year begins, it doesn’t usually feel like an end point or a beginning, but mostly a point in time where you reflect the past. This reflection probably prompts most of us to make new goals for ourselves, probably the same goals we made the year prior but still didn’t accomplish.

When I think about 2016, I can feel the beginning and the end of the year. My year started with love and ended with heartbreak and I promised myself that 2017 would be a year where I put myself first, and loved myself first. There are many things that I’ve learned this past year that I’m looking forward to applying to next year. Here’s a few of them, and hopefully they shed some light on some things for you as well.

  • Create more opportunities for yourself. Things don’t happen like you might expect them to, you have to make them happen.
  • Stop feeling as if your emotions and reactions to situations don’t matter.
  • Take care of yourself; hustle hard but rest harder.
  • People can’t read your mind, SPEAK UP.
  • If someone only makes you feel bad about yourself, your opinions and your goals then cut them. You don’t need anyone in your life that isn’t helping you be the best you.
  • You don’t need approval from anyone.
  • Study hard, but pleaaase go have fun once and a while.
Leave a Reply

