You Should Be Following: Karla Welch

KHARISSA EDWARDS

After the 2016 American Presidential Election, the fashion industry quickly became political and social media became the platform of choice. One of the most unapologetic and outspoken activists on Instagram is celebrity stylist Karla Welch.

The Canadian stylist, who started her career as a sommelier, was recently named the 2017 ‘Most Powerful Stylist’ by The Hollywood Reporter. Her Instagram account is filled with behind-the-scenes photos of her clients such as Tracee Ellis Ross, Sarah Paulson, Elizabeth Moss, Olivia Wilde, Ruth Negga, and Karlie Kloss.

karla-welch-4

Last August, Welch launched a seven-piece collection of simple white t-shirts for Hanes, having been inspired by her client Justin Bieber. Her campaign featured faces such as Joan Smalls, Kaia Gerber, and Justin Bieber himself.

bieber

While her Instagram account is filled with lighthearted photos of her celebrity clients, Welch never shies away from expressing her feelings about America’s unjust political environment. In January, the self-proclaimed feminist attended the Women’s March and passionately encouraged her 114,000 followers to actively raise their voice against misogynistic politicians.

thr-sarah-karla-and-ruth

She has since spoken out against some of Donald Trump’s most controversial actions such as the military transgender ban, his lax stance on elephant pouching, and the defunding of Planned Parenthood. Her intersectional approach to activism has resonated with her followers as she has made efforts to raise awareness about DACA, Black Lives Matter, and Indigenous communities. Welch advocates for tighter gun control, Colin Kaepernick’s #TakeAKnee, philanthropic consumerism and women’s rights.

She discussed why she is so vocal to The Coveteur saying:

“I think it’s so unfortunate and not thoughtful when people think that someone has to just be one way. We’re all humans. Why should thoughts on politics be limited to politicians? Please—that’s half the problem we’re in right now. I’ve never felt like I shouldn’t be able to speak up. I’ve always been a voice and I’m never going to stop because I have a brand or because I have followers. I want my followers to know what I believe in, and if I can educate or shed some light on things that are important to me, then that’s a good reason I would use my forum. I think what’s going on in the world is crazy and wrong, and if we don’t use our voices, we’re screwed.”

 Karla Welch recognizes that we live in a time where history is being made. Many chose to remain silent but resilient, resistive voices like hers are carving the path to a more just society.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.